Shall we upload albums as bittorrents?

Saturday, February 16, 2008

Quantic Soul Orchestra

Stampede 21/04/03

The Quantic Soul Orchestra's debut album Stampede arrived courtesy of Will Holland, a.k.a Quantic. Having already released two acclaimed albums under his Quantic guise The 5th Exotic and Apricot Morning, Stampede is his strictly sample-free, all-live project. Influenced by super-heavy original funk, soul, jazz and afro-beat, the band consists of 11 highly talented musicians and features the golden voiced Alice Russell, who applies her sultry vocals to three of the albums tracks, including the band's breathtaking cover of 4Heros classic Hold it Down. Stampede hit the shelves in April of 2003 and has since received a wealth of fervent accolades from the music press, club and radio DJs alike. The album also includes a new vocal version of crowd pleaser Super 8 by Jon Hughes and the timeless Babarabatiri penned by Benney More/Titu Puente.

1. Stampede
2. Raw Ingredients
3. Walking Through Tomorrow (Super 8 Part 3)
4. South Coastin
5. Something That's Real
6. Hold It Down
7. Assassin
8. Terrapin
9. Bararabatiri
10. Take Your Time Change Your Mind


Pushin' On 09/05/05

The multi-instrumentalist funk supremo that is Will Holland returns with a second recording from his full band, The Quantic Soul Orchestra. QSO have bedded in their sound through a series of barnstorming live appearances over the last couple of years, and Pushin' On sees them at the very top of their game. It's hard not to be effusive about an album as good as this, which sees Holland's remarkable song-writing and feel for the genre reflected in a satisfyingly gritty, low-fi seventies funk sound. There are no album tracks on here--every one's a winner--but special mention should go to the blistering cover of Mr Scruff's dancefloor banger, "Get A Move On" and to the incomparable Alice Russell: it takes some guts for a female vocalist to cover a timeless Nina Simone song like "Feeling Good", but the Brighton diva succeeds in spades, breathing new life into a much-loved classic. Between his Quantic, Quantic Soul Orchestra and Limp Twins projects, Will Holland has proved to be an extremely gifted and prolific musician and tunesmith, and this is his best work to date. More importantly, he's funkier than George Clinton's platforms: sitting still through this album is not a viable option.

1. Introducing… The Quantic Soul Orchestra
2. West Pier Getdown
3. Pushin On
4. That Goose On My Grave
5. Feeling Good
6. The Conspiritor
7. Hands Of My Love
8. Hold On Tight
9. Get A Move On
10. Paintings And Journeys
11. End Of The Road

Spanky Wilson & The Quantic Soul Orchestra
I'm Thankful


Since she burst onto the scene in the late 1960's, Spanky Wilson has performed and recorded with the likes of Marvin Gaye, Sammy Davis Jr., Lalo Schifrin, Jimmy Smith, the Duke Ellington Orchestra, Pretty Purdie, and Willie Bobo. Renowned as a soul, blues, and jazz singer, she's released seven albums under her own name, and tracks like "Sunshine Of Your Love" and "You" have become DJ and collector favorites worldwide. "I'm Thankful" is a stunning collection of 21st century jazz, funk, big band, and soul music. "Filled with burbling bass lines, a stabbing horn section, sweeping strings, and chunky guitars...proof that they haven't yet built machines that can replace human musicians"

1. I'm Thankful
2. A Woman Like Me
3. Blood From A Stone
4. Don't Joke With A Hungry Man (Part 2)
5. Don't Joke With A Hungry Man (Part 3)
6. That's How It Was
7. Message To Tomorrow
8. Waiting For Your Touch
9. You Can't Judge A Book By It's Cover
10. I'm Thankful (Part 2)


The Quantic Soul Orchestra - Tropidelico (2007)
Release Date: October 22, 2007

01. Tropidelico
02. Panama City
03. She Said What
04. Melodius Wayfarer
05. Regi Bugalu
06. Interlude
07. Lead Us To The End
08. San Sebastian Strut
09. Marrakech
10. Who Knows
11. Father
12. Los Olvidados


No comments: