Shall we upload albums as bittorrents?

Thursday, October 9, 2008

The Bamboos

Side-Stepper (Tru Thoughts 2008)

The Bamboos are Australia's masters of raw, old school Funk breaks and super-heavy Soul. Led by Guitarist Lance Ferguson (AKA Lanu), other members include Kylie Auldist (Vocals), Dustin Mclean/Ben Grayson (Hammond Organ), Danny Farrugia (Drums), Yuri Pavlinov (Bass), Anton Delecca (Sax/Flute) and Ross Irwin (Trumpet). The Bamboos formed in 2001 and released the 7" single 'Eel Oil/Blackfoot', earning them international acclaim from the likes of Snowboy, Mr Scruff, Jazzanova, Patrick Forge and Russ Dewbury. Their next release 'Tighten Up/Voodoo Doll' was picked up by Kenny Dope (Masters At Work) and Keb Darge (Legendary Deep Funk) for their U.S-based imprint Kay-Dee Records. Making their home at Tru Thoughts records (home to Quantic and Alice Russell) in 2005, The Bamboos debut album ‘Step it Up’ was released jointly by Tru Thoughts and Ubiquity Records (US). In 2004 and 2005 The Bamboos toured Australia and New Zealand alongside Quantic and Alice Russell to universal acclaim. In 2006 and 2007 The Bamboos toured Europe and the U.K, bringing their unmistakable sound to venues including The Jazz Café in London and countries including Germany, Spain, Ireland, Italy and Belgium. The Bamboos live shows have evolved into non-stop mixtape-style throw-downs that draw the links between Hip Hop, Soul, Funk and old-school Breaks. The Bamboos have performed at events including Meredith Music Festival, Falls Festival, The West Coast Blues & Roots Festival, Golden Plains, The Adelaide Festival, The St Kilda Festival, The Sydney Festival, Trop Fest and have appeared on the ABC TV Show ‘Sunday Arts’ The Bamboos music has been featured in high rating TV Shows such as ‘Greys Anatomy’ (US) and ‘Ugly Betty’ (US) The last Bamboos album ‘Rawville’ was described by IDJ magazine (UK) as ‘Arguably the best Funk album of the modern era…” Out through U.K’s Tru Thoughts, it was JBHiFi, Radio National and 3PBS FM’s ‘album of the week’ upon release in May 2007. It was in ABC Australia’s Top 5 Albums for 2007


01.) Nightsport
02.) Tears Cried feat. Kylie Auldist
03.) Now That You Are Mine feat. Kylie Auldist
04.) King Of The Rodeo feat. Megan Washington
05.) Funky Buttercup
06.) Can't Help Myself feat. TY
07.) One Man Entourage
08.) Make It Real feat. Kylie Auldist
09.) Move On feat. Paul MacInnes
10.) The Side Stepper
11.) Amen Brother



monkeyboxing said...

it's dope! review now up at

viagra online said...

Excellent track list specially these songs Tears Cried feat and Move On feat, what a special sounds they put in these songs.m10m

pharmacy said...

they are some of the best musician in the world, It is really good thanks for sharing